Bristol County Savings Charitable Foundation Awards $124,698 in Grants to 11 Non-Profits in Taunton and Attleboro

Hockomock Area YMCA, one of the 11 non-profit organizations in greater Taunton and Attleboro that BCSCF awarded grants to, is presented with a check as part of the Bank's committment and support to the local community. 

TAUNTON, MA, July 27, 2022 — Bristol County Savings Bank’s Charitable Foundation (BCSCF) recently awarded grants totaling $124,698.01 to eleven non-profit organizations in greater Taunton and Attleboro, Massachusetts. All total, the Bank presented $345,898.01 in grants to 38 organizations in the Taunton/Attleboro region, as well as the New Bedford-Dartmouth/Fall River and northern Rhode Island regions.  Since the Foundation was formed in 1996, more than $27 million has been committed to hundreds of different non-profits. 
The organizations in the Taunton/Attleboro region that received grants from the Foundation are as follows: AMEGO, Inc. ($16,168.01); Applause Academy ($5,000); Arc of Bristol County ($10,000); Associates for Human Services ($23,530); Hockomock Area YMCA ($20,000); Junior Achievement of Southern MA ($10,000); Pride, Inc. ($7,500); Raising Multicultural Kids, Inc. ($5,000); Reach Out and Read, Inc. ($10,000); Triboro Youth Theatre, Inc. ($5,000); and True Diversity, Inc. ($12,500).
Patrick J. Murray, Jr., President of the Foundation and President & CEO of the Bank, awarded the grants to the organizations.  “As we have moved through the pandemic, the non-profits in the Taunton and Attleboro area continue to be the glue that have held our local communities together,” said Murray.  “We try and do our part by supporting these amazing organizations which, in turn, help make our communities a better place to live and work.”  Murray added that the Foundation awarded $2.3 million to various 501(c)(3) organizations last year.
Also participating in the event were Shaunna O’Connell, Mayor, City of Taunton; Paul Coogan, Mayor, City of Fall River; Ty Waterman, Councilman At-Large, representing the City of Attleboro; Janet Barbosa, Director of Special Projects & Programs for the office of Jon Mitchell, Mayor, City of New Bedford; Emily Rizzo, Communications Director for the office of Don Grebien, Mayor, City of Pawtucket; and representatives from the BCSCF advisory boards and the Bank’s area branches.
Bristol County Savings Bank is an active supporter in the communities in which it serves. The Foundation was established in 1996 as part of the Bank’s 150th Anniversary celebration. Its purpose is to fund needs that contribute to the economic and the social well-being of the people and institutions located in the greater Taunton/Attleboro region, the greater New Bedford/Dartmouth region, the greater Fall River region and the northern Rhode Island region, with particular emphasis in the areas of education and literacy, economic development and housing for the low- to moderate-income population.  In 2020, the Foundation added an additional area of focus supporting organizations that are on the frontlines of the pandemic or experiencing hardship as a result.